Has peeled barley gluten

The cereal protein gluten

Gluten-containing foods are wheat, rye, barley, green spelled, spelled, kamut, einkorn, ancient grain, emmer, wheat derivatives and oats. Gluten-free cereals are rice, corn, millet, buckwheat, amaranth, quinoa, soy, prima starch.

The argument that the particularly undemanding wheat, which is most widely grown worldwide today, has particularly high gluten contents is controversial. But not the gluten itself, but only certain components such as gliadin and other proteins found in wheat can be problematic for humans. Accordingly, it is at least conceivable that modern wheat still causes more complaints than old varieties.

Modern baking: Those who do not suffer from overt celiac disease do not have to go without gluten for life, even if bread is apparently not well tolerated. The wholemeal breads, which are baked quickly and with leavening agents, often cause discomfort without this being due to the gluten they contain. On the one hand, the shortened baking time ensures that irritating substances are not sufficiently deactivated. On the other hand, in contrast to the peeled grain, the whole grain still contains all the substances that are formed by the grain plant as protection against eating. If both facts come together - whole grain and little baking time - the intestinal problems are inevitable.

Traditional baking: This can only be remedied by traditional methods of preparing grain and grain products, which can significantly improve tolerance. In rye, for example, the sourdough helps to inactivate substances that are problematic for the intestine. A good sourdough needs at least 48 hours - time that is no longer available today. Further techniques are watering and sprouting, which has also proven itself with legumes.