Reinforced molybdenum stainless steel

What is stainless steel?

Each of us deals with stainless steel almost every day. At the latest when we cook or eat with cutlery, we hold a product made of alloyed, stainless steel in our hand. But as omnipresent as these steels are: what exactly is stainless steel?

Stainless steel is a collective term for stainless steels

Stainless steel is called alloyed steel, which has a special degree of purity. More than 160 different types of steel are classified as “rustproof”, “rustproof” or “rustproof”! When steel is melted during steel production, elements such as chromium, nickel, molybdenum and vanadium are added, which give the stainless steel its special performance characteristics. Chromium stands for the improvement of the corrosion ability, molybdenum intensifies this effect. Nickel makes the steel more resistant to acids and vanadium increases the workability of the material.

When does steel become stainless steel?

Stainless steel belongs to the group of stainless steels. This characteristic is given to the material during the production of stainless steel. This creates a compound of chromium that reacts with oxygen and is called a passive or chromium oxide layer. This top layer on the steel is only a few thousandths of a millimeter thick and protects the material from environmental influences. The passive layer forms almost completely anew after every mechanical damage. They "impregnate" the steel and prevent it from rusting.
Extreme circumstances can nevertheless ensure that the passivation layer is attacked. Possible damage is caused by acids, chlorine, salt water or rust film. In areas with a high risk of corrosion, V4A stainless steel should therefore be used, which is characterized by higher corrosion resistance.

Stainless steel is a special alloy

Stainless steel is also called "chrome-nickel steel" because the basic components of stainless steel are iron, chrome and nickel. Depending on which properties the stainless steel should offer, the alloy contains molybdenum, manganese, vanadium or other alloying elements in greater concentrations. Stainless steel may only be designated as "rust-free" if the chromium content is at least 13 percent.

Based on the main alloy components and the degree of purity, stainless steel can be divided into the following 3 main groups:

Chrome steel:

This alloy has an increased chromium content, which improves the corrosion resistance. Knife blades, cutlery and cookware in the lower price ranges are made with it.

Chrome-nickel steel:

This steel alloy is characterized by higher corrosion resistance and is used in the production of sinks and drums for washing machines. Chrome-nickel steel is also used for high-quality cutlery and cookware.

Chrome-manganese steel:

This stainless steel is particularly suitable for medical devices or for body jewelry and implants. The material is extremely corrosion-resistant and at the same time easy to process.

Classification of stainless steel

The stainless steel material numbers provide a precise subdivision of the various stainless steels. Using these designations, consumers and industry can understand the proportions in which the steel contains the various alloying elements. Depending on these elements, the individual types of stainless steel can be classified based on their properties. In addition to the trademark "stainless steel", the material number offers the best orientation as to which product is made of which stainless steel.

We are happy to help you buy your stainless steel products and advise you on material properties! Just get in touch online!