Why was WBUT renamed to MAKAUT

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology - Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology

Public University in West Bengal
motto In search of knowledge and excellence
Art Public State University
Established August 7, 2001; 19 years ago (Aug 7, 2001)
budget ₹ 295 crore (US $ 41 million) (2020-2021)
Chancellor Jagdeep Dhankhar (Governor of West Bengal)
Vice Chancellor Saikat Maitra
address , , ,
22 ° 57'25 '' N 88 ° 32'39 '' E. /. 22.957038 ° N 88.544293 ° E / 22.957038; 88.544293 Coordinates: 22.957038 ° N 88.544293 ° E. 22 ° 57'25 '' N 88 ° 32'39 '' E. /. / 22.957038; 88,544293
campus Urban
Affiliations UGC, NAAC, AIU, AICTE
website makautwb .ac .in

The Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Technical University in West Bengal ( MAKAUT, WB ), formerly known as West Bengal Technical University ( WBUT ), is a public state university located off the National Highway in Haringhata, Nadia, West Bengal, India. WB was founded in 2001 and is fully funded by the West Bengal government, MAKAUT. The company has degrees in engineering, management, pharmacy and other professional areas through affiliated institutions and internal departments. In 2019, new certification and diploma courses in archeology were introduced.


A committee of experts established on December 31, 1998 by the West Bengal government, chaired by Ashesh Prosad Mitra, to establish a university of engineering and technology in the state of West Bengal.

The university was formalized on January 15, 2001 and appointed the first Vice Chancellor under the West Bengal University of Technology Act of 2001 under the West Bengal Act XV of 2000, passed by the West Bengal Legislature.

The university's academic program began on July 16, 2001 following a notice dated June 15, 2001 by the Ministry of Higher Education of the West Bengal Government on the affiliation of engineering and management institutions / colleges and has entered its eighth year of operation. The university is included in Section 2F as well as Section 12B of the UGC and receives the UGC grant.

The renaming of the university from the Technical University of West Bengal to the Technical University of Maulana Abul Kalam Azad in West Bengal caused a stir in the student community and in the universities affiliated to the university in April 2015


Main campus of Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Technical University

The university, which began operating from the West Bengal State Archives Building, was located at 43 Shakespeare Sarani, Kolkata 700017, India. It is currently located in Haringhata, Nadia (as of 2018), India, covering an area of ​​40 acres. It offers space for boys and girls, a large playground, a central library and is intended to open many other facilities for students.

The university has a permanent main campus of approximately 40 acres in Haringhata provided by the West Bengal government. Hostels have been built to accommodate both boys and girls.

Organization and administration

Schools and departments

The university has 25 departments and centers in seven schools:

  • School of Life Sciences
  • Department of Biotechnology
  • Bioinformatics Department
  • School of Computational Science
  • Institute for Computer Science and Engineering
  • Information technology department
  • Center for Geoinformatics and Spatial Sciences
  • School of Engineering Science
  • Institute for Media Studies
  • Faculty of Industrial Engineering and Management
  • Microelectronics and VLSI Technology Department
  • School of Energy and Environmental Sciences
  • Institute for Environmental Sciences
  • Renewable Energy Department
  • School of Management & Science
  • Department of Management
  • Hospital Management Department
  • Ministry of Travel and Tourism
  • School of Natural Sciences and Applied Science
  • Applied Science Department
  • Forensics Department
  • Department of Materials Science and Technology
  • School of Food, Pharmaceutical, and Medical Science and Technology
  • Department of Food Science and Technology
  • Pharmaceutical Science and Technology Department

Affiliated universities

As of 2018, it has 192 affiliated colleges that are responsible for the entire state of West Bengal. Notable affiliated colleges include:

  • Army Institute of Management, Kolkata
  • Technical Academy, Hooghly
  • Heritage Institute of Technology
  • BP Poddar Institute for Management & Technology
  • Bankura Unnayani Institute of Engineering
  • Bengal College of Engineering and Technology
  • Bengali Institute of Technology, Kolkata
  • College of Technology and Management, Kolaghat
  • Coochbehar Government Engineering College, Coochbehar
  • Dr. BC Roy Engineering College, Durgapur
  • Future institute for engineering and management
  • Ghani Khan Choudhury Institute of Engineering and Technology
  • Government College for Engineering and Textile Technology Serampore
  • Government College of Engineering & Textile Technology, Berhampore
  • Government College of Engineering and Ceramic Technology
  • Government College of Engineering and Leather Technology
  • Greater Kolkata College of Engineering and Management
  • Jalpaiguri Government Engineering College
  • Kalyani Government Engineering College
  • National Institute for Technical Teacher Education and Research, Kolkata
  • Netaji Subhash Engineering College
  • Purulia Government Engineering College
  • RCC Institute for Information Technology
  • Saroj Mohan Institute of Technology, Guptipara
  • St. Thomas' College of Engineering and Technology
  • Group of Institutions of the Supreme Knowledge Foundation
  • NSHM Knowledge Campus
  • Eminent college for pharmaceutical technology
  • Birbhum Pharmacy School



The National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) ranked it 157th among engineering colleges in 2020.


MAKAUT, WB is recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC). MAKAUT, WB was awarded B ++ with a CGPA of 2.87 by the NAAC on its first visit.


The exams are held twice a year for all affiliated universities. The exam for an odd semester is held in December and January. Results for odd semesters are usually published in February. Even semester exams are held in May / June. The results for the current semester will be published in July.

See also


External links