“The Milner award” was awarded for topological insulators and cure for spinal atrophy

Winners of the world’s largest scientific prize — prize of the Breakthrough Prize, founded by then entrepreneur Yuri Milner, which is awarded annually for outstanding achievements in physics, mathematics and biology. Nine awards totaling $ 22 million was awarded for developing products for the treatment of spinal muscular atrophy, a method of ultra-high resolution microscopy, the discovery of the mechanism of detection of the foreign DNA and the influence of chromosomal abnormalities on the body, and also for the creation of topological insulators and achievements in the field of mathematics the Langlands program. Full list of winners published on the website of the award.

Prize the Breakthrough Prize was established in 2012 on the initiative of Yuri Milner and is considered one of the largest scientific awards in the world, the prize winners get about $ 3 million. It is supported, in particular, the head of Alibaba Group Jack MA, the founder of Facebook mark Zuckerberg and Google co-Creator Sergey Brin, as well as the Creator of the project 23andMe Anne Wojcicki.

In the category “life Sciences” award was given to the pharmacologist, Frank Bennett (Frank Bennett) and biochemist Adrian Craner (Adrian Krainer) for the development of the first ever cure for the neurodegenerative disease spinal muscular atrophy. Children affected by this disease usually do not live a year. New data obtained by Bennett and Craner in the study of antisense RNA, allowed them to create the drug nusinesses, which gives great hopes for the progress in the treatment of SMA.

In addition, the prize was awarded to Angelika Amon (Amon Angelika) from the Medical Institute of Howard Hughes. It is awarded for the study of the chains of consequences that start in the body, chromosomal abnormalities, in particular, the lack of chromosomes — aneuploidy. Award also was awarded colleague of Amon at the Institute of Saova Chuang (Xiaowei Zhuang) — she has created a method of ultra-high resolution microscopy STORM, which made it possible to overcome the traditional diffraction barrier of light microscopy and cell structure. The third scientist from the Institute of Hughes — Jizzen Chen (Chen Zhijian) — received the award for research triggers immune and autoimmune reactions. He opened a sensitive DNA enzyme cGAS, which launches the body’s response to infection, stress or other factors.

Prize in fundamental physics was awarded to Charles Kane (Charles Kane) and Eugene Mel (Eugene Mele) from the University of Pennsylvania — they predicted the existence of topological insulators, a new class of materials that allow electric current only on the surface but are insulators in the bulk. In addition, a special prize in physics was awarded to Jocelyn bell Burnell, the discoverer of pulsars.

Award in mathematics will go to the Vincent Lafforgue (Vincent Lafforgue) of the French national research center CNRS for dostijeniya in several areas of mathematics, in particular in the area of the Langlands program.

In addition, the jury named the winners of 12 small awards New Horizons (“New horizons”) in mathematics and physics.

The awards ceremony will take place on 4 November. Last year the Breakthrough Prize in fundamental physics has received the participants of the project to study the relic radiation, quality control of proteins in the cell and mechanisms of neurodegenerative diseases and birational algebraic geometry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.