The wolf prize for 2020 was awarded for the topology, graphene and CRISPR/Cas9

The Israeli Wolf Foundation
named winners of the award for the year 2020. Authoritative awards in mathematics, which
considered one of the three most prestigious in the field, was awarded to the British
Simon Donaldson and born in the USSR, but working the last 30 years in the United States,
James Eliasberg. Scientists were awarded “for their contribution to differential geometry
and the topology,” says the Foundation website.

The wolf prize is a series of
awards for scientists and artists, which is awarded almost every year since 1978. The prize is awarded in six categories: mathematics,
physics, chemistry, medicine, agriculture and art (architecture, music,
painting and sculpture). The award consists of a diploma and monetary reward in
one hundred thousand dollars. In 2018, the award presented to the creators of quantum cryptography, and molecular frameworks.

Research wolf prize
highly regarded in the research community: award on agriculture
called the analogue of the Nobel prize for this discipline in chemistry and physics —
the second largest in the world, in medicine the Nobel prize and prize
Lasker. The credibility of the awards, in particular, due to the fact that many winners
wolf prize subsequently became Nobel Laureates, sometimes
even for next year.

The wolf prize in
mathematics until 2001 was considered the closest analogue to the Nobel prize, as
more authoritative the fields medal is awarded every four years and only scientist to
40. In 2001 was established the Abel prize, which is also highly valued
the scientific community. These three awards are the most prestigious in the region

This year’s winners at
math has become Simon Donaldson (Simon Donaldson) and James Eliasberg (Yakov
Eliashberg) for work on differential geometry and topology. Eliashberg marked
as one of the founders of symplectic and contact topology, which
appeared as mathematical tools for the qualitative solution of the task
classical mechanics and are still related to modern physics. Donaldson is known
work on a smooth four-dimensional manifolds and the theory of Donaldson — Thomas
on invariants of Calabi — Yau.

Eliashberg was born in 1946 in Leningrad and graduated from the
Leningrad University in 1972. Since 1988 living in the United States, where
holds the position of Professor at Stanford University. His work has been
had several other mathematical awards. Donaldson was born in 1957
he completed his studies at Cambridge in 1979. Currently he is a Professor
Of stony brook University and Imperial College London.

Other winners this year
are: Caroline Dean (Caroline Dean) on agriculture for the study of flowering time and epigeneticheskogo control of vernalization, Allan MacDonald (Allan
H. MacDonald), Pablo Jarillo-Herrero (Pablo Jarillo-Herrero) and Bistricer Rafi (Rafi
Bistritzer) in physics for studies of bilayer graphene, Emmanuelle Charpentier (Emanuelle Charpentier) and Jennifer
Doudna (Jennifer Doudna) in medicine for the discovery of gene editing system CRISPR/Cas9, and Cindy Sherman (Cindy Sherman) on the art for the redefinition of the concept taken with the camera art.

Earlier last year the Abel prize was first awarded to a woman, the Lasker award received by the pioneers of b – and T-lymphocytes and the makers of Herceptin, the special prize of the Milner physics noted supergravitation, and the Award Shao gave for “the Voyagers”, the spin glass and the repair of DNA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.